TNS Remain Unbeaten in WPL

The New Saints remained unbeaten in the Corbett Sports Welsh Premier League after drawing with Aberystwyth Town at Park Hall Stadium.

Despite leading by three goals to nil, Ian Hughes’ side fought back and scored in the last minute to clinch a dramatic 3-3 draw.

Jamie Reed gave TNS the lead in the 14th minute before Scott Quigley made it two ten minutes later. Mike Wilde converted a third goal to give TNS a three goal advantage going into the break.

TNS began well and opened the scoring in the 14th minute after Reed’s close range header beat Mike Lewis to give Craig Harrison’s side a perfect start.

Quigley then went close to making it two but was thwarted by Lewis in the Aber goal.

However, the powerful winger didn’t have to wait long for his next chance. The TNS number 22 dribbled past a couple of defenders and expertly placed his shot into the bottom corner to double The Saints’ advantage.

A minute later and it was three nil. Wilde pounced at the back post after a loose ball to give TNS a three goal advantage.

The second half began in a similar manner with The Saints dominating possession but with 58 minutes played, Mark Jones beat Paul Harrison to reduce the deficit. The Aber striker found the top corner from just inside the box to give the visitors a lifeline.

The visitors then pulled another goal back through Stuart Jones. The defender powered in a powerful header to give his side hope of a memorable comeback.

TNS then started to once again dominate possession but in the final minute of the game, Jones struck a dramatic equaliser from long range to clinch a draw for the visitors.


TNS FC: Harrison (C), Spender, Marriott, Baker, K.Edwards, R.Edwards (Rawlinson 71), Reed, Seargeant, Draper, Wilde (Darlington 62) and Quigley.

The unused substitutes were Wycherley, Jones, Cieslewicz, Mullan and Williams.