Saints awarded UEFA and FAW Domestic Licence

The New Saints FC of Oswestry Town were once again successful in their application for a UEFA and FAW Domestic Licence at a meeting of the FAW First Instance Licensing Body held in Cardiff today.

The current Dafabet Welsh Premier League Champions have further extended their record of securing both a UEFA Licence since its inception in 2004/2005 season when the club was known as Total Network Solutions as well as an FAW Domestic Licence when it was introduced.

The other two clubs that have been efficient enough to gain licences each and every year are Aberystwyth Town and Newtown AFC.

“The hard work from Management staff within the club such as Chief Operating Officer Ian Williams and Finance Director Helen Harris, has been key to obtaining a licence year in, year out which has helped build a platform for the team to achieve on the pitch and the club would like to thank them both for all of their hard work” commented Chairman Mike Harris

The Club Licensing system aims to assist the continual improvement and development of football clubs at the top level within Wales. Licensing is a transparent process that enables clubs to demonstrate to their stakeholders that they meet quality standards.

An FAW Domestic Club Licence is required for clubs to participate in the Dafabet Welsh Premier League and for those clubs who qualify for European competitions, a UEFA Licence is also a pre-requisite.

Below are the list of clubs that received an FAW Domestic Licence for the 2016/17 season:-

  1. Aberystwyth Town
  2. Airbus UK Broughton
  3. Bala Town
  4. Bangor City
  5. Barry Town Utd
  6. Carmarthen Town
  7. Cefn Druids
  8. Flint Town Utd
  9. Gap Connah’s Quay
  10. Haverfordwest County
  11. Mbi Llandudno
  12. Newtown AFC
  13. Rhyl FC
  14. The New Saints FC

The UEFA Licensed Clubs that received the licence for the 2016/17 season are:-

  1. Aberystwyth Town
  2. Airbus UK Broughton
  3. Bala Town
  4. Bangor City
  5. Carmarthen Town
  6. Gap Connah’s Quay
  7. Mbi Llandudno
  8. Newtown AFC
  9. The New Saints FC