Record- breakers at The Rock – Cefn Druids 0 The New Saints FC 2

Record- breakers at The Rock – Cefn Druids 0 The New Saints FC 2

For a number of weeks now, we have been both equalling and breaking records. From Bangor City’s run of consecutive Welsh top-flight wins through to Rangers’ 19th century winning streak from the start of a British league season, they have been reached and then passed.

Tonight though, at The Rock, the home of Cefn Druids, new heights were scaled as The New Saints entered the Guinness World Records following the 2-0 victory.

We were already in the limelight anyway, after the 4-0 win against our near-neighbours on Boxing Day. Tonight though, as referee Kevin Parry blew the final whistle, we made the top spot our very own. Regardless of the league that you play in, to clock up 27 consecutive domestic wins in one season is impressive.

And of course, it’s all ongoing. To find out how tonight went to plan though, read the match report below.

Starting line-up: Paul Harrison, Simon Spender, Chris Marriott, Connell Rawlinson, Steve Saunders, Aeron Edwards, Jon Routledge, Adrian Cieslewicz, Ryan Brobbel, Alex Darlington, Greg Draper

Used Substitutes: Ryan Pryce (for Simon Spender), Phil Baker (for Connell Rawlinson), Jamie Mullan (for Alex Darlington)

Unused substitutes: Chris Seargeant, Jacob Farleigh, James Jones, Andy Wycherley

Match report

THE record-breaking New Saints rewrote footballing history by registering a 27th successive domestic win to eclipse the 26-game winning streak set by Johan Cruyff’s magnificent Ajax side of 1972.

A first-half volley from Aeron Edwards paved the way for TNS to notch up another victory, this time at the expense of Cefn Druids, before Jon Routledge sparked the celebrations with a sumptuous late strike.

They will now turn their attention to a registering a third successive domestic treble after sweeping aside all before them in recent years, while Cefn continue to fight against the drop despite playing their part in a battling display

Druids delivered an early warning to The New Saints, when Michael Pritchard fired wide in the second minute when he struck from the edge of the box.


Simon Spender then fed Ryan Brobbel who was expertly denied by Cefn goalkeeper Michael Jones at his near post soon after.

Adrian Cieslewicz sent the ball a whisker wide of the Druids upright, courtesy of a deflection, as Saints began to take control on 22 minutes.

Jones was alert to thwart Greg Draper at close range when he connected with Spender’s ball across the edge of the six-yard box.

And in a frantic 30th minute spell Alex Darlington sent a shot against the post, before Spender saw the rebound saved, with Chris Marriott firing just wide as Druids lived dangerously.

They were finally undone by a wonderful 35th minutes Edwards volley, taking one touch to control the ball on the edge of the area before engineering a strike that swerved away from the diving Jones to put TNS ahead.


Jordan Barrow headed wide for the Ancients as they sought an immediate equaliser, but their efforts fell short as the half-time whistle blew, with Druids striker Steve Blenkinsop heading straight at Saints stopper, Paul Harrison.

Harrison was in action to block an Adam Hesp effort as the second-half began, but Darlington flashed a header over the bar at the other end.

Routledge then sent a shot wide of the Cefn goal on 63 minutes, but Jones saved his side in the Druids goal once more, when he made a magnificent one-handed stop from Cieselewicz.

And he stood up to prevent Ryan Brobbel doubling Saints tally in a one-on-one with eight minutes remaining.

But he was powerless to prevent Routledge from setting the seal on a resounding New Saints record when he let fly with a sweetly struck 25-yard strike time to put TNS firmly in the history books late on.