Saints Crash Out

The New Saints crashed out of the Shropshire Senior Cup after losing five two to Market Drayton, at the Greenfields Stadium.

The Saints went close after only ten minutes, when Connell Rawlinson headed just wide, having risen highest to meet a Scott Ruscoe corner.

Midway through the first half the home side took the lead thanks to a wonderful finish from Neville Thompson.

However, within a minute of the Market Drayton goal, the Corbett Sports Welsh Premier League Champions equalised. Scott Quigley forced Damien Stevens into a good save but the ball bounced kindly for Wilde, who pounced on the loose ball and tapped in from close range.

A minute before half time, Chris Peel put the Gingerbread Men back in front after he converted from close range. The Saints had given the ball away in defence and Thompson expertly found the unmakred Peel, who kept his cool to ensure that his side were leading, as the teams went into half time.

Thirteen minutes into the second half, the Oswestry based side equlaised thanks to a powerful header from Ryan Jones. However, only forty two seconds after the equaliser, TNS slipped up again. Thompson scored his second and Market Drayton’s third by bringing the ball down and wondefully striking the ball into the top corner, to give his side a three two lead, with only 30 minutes to play.

On 78 minutes Jones should have doubled his tally, but the youngster failed to connect with the ball after Wilde had nodded the ball into his path.

With ten minutes left to play, Thompson completed his hat-trick with a fantastic solo effort and despite pressure from Craig Harrison’s men, the home side scored another. Ken Renshaw picked up the ball on the edge of the box and fired an unstoppable drive into the top right corner.

Full time: Market Drayton 5 –  2 The New Saints.

The TNS line up was Chris Mullock, Luke Douglas, Adam Davies,Scott Ruscoe, Matty Williams, Connell Rawlinson, Mike Wilde, Ryan Kershaw, Scott Quigley, Aaron Simms and Ryan Jones.

On the bench for the Saints were Fisnik Hadjari, Ben Richards, Pablo Carney, Jordan Wells and Francisco Rowlands.