Saints drop points

The New Saints drew one all with Bala Town after a Connall Murtagh goal cancelled out a brilliant free kick from Chris Seargeant.

Seargeant opened the scoring on 38 minutes but ten minutes into the second half, Murtagh converted from the penalty spot.

With the rain pouring down, The Saints had all the ball but with ten minutes gone, TNS had only managed a couple of long range shots from Simon Spender and Ryan Fraughan, that Ashley Morris was able to keep out.

Spender then produced a brilliant cross which Mike Wilde met but the former Chester forward fired over after superbly turning in the box.

Minutes later, Fraughan found space before curling an effort just wide as the home side continued to press forward.

With seven minutes left of the first half, Seargeant opened the scoring. The TNS number 12 hit an unstoppable free kick into the bottom corner from long range, leaving Morris with no chance.

The visitors started the second half well and were awarded a penalty  after Connell Rawlinson was adjudged to have pushed Mark Connolly on 57 minutes. The former TNS player Murtagh stepped up and sent Harrison the wrong way, as TNS conceded at home for the first time this season.

Bala continued to push forward and went close on numerous occasions but were unable to get past Harrison.

Stuart Jones and Kai Edwards both had chances to win it but both headed over as the conditions worsened.

TNS continued to search for the winning goal and despite Craig Harrison bringing Greg Draper on, the TNS number nine couldn’t score the decisive goal despite looking dangerous once he received the ball.

The rain continued to fall and no more goal came, ensuring that Bala were the first team to take points off TNS at Park Hall, all season.

The TNS line up was Paul Harrison (C), Simon Spender, Chris Marriott, Kai Edwards, Sam Finley, Ryan Fraughan (Chris Jones 73), Chris Seargeant (Alex Darlington 57), Jamie Mullan, Connell Rawlinson, Mike Wilde (Greg Draper 68) and Aeron Edwards.

The unused substitutes were Matty Williams, Phil Baker and Aaron Simms.

The Bala Town line up was Ashley Morris, Ben Collins, Stuart Jones, Ryan Valentine, Dave Morley, Connall Murtagh, Mark Connolly (Stephen Brown 77), Mark Jones, Kenny Lunt, Ian Sheridan and Kieran Smith.

On the bench for the visitors were Tony Davies, Ryan Wyn Jones, Lewis Codling and Chris Mason.