TNS Players Star in WPL Team of the Season

The 2013/2014 Welsh Premier League Team of the Season has been announced and the team contains five players from The New Saints.

The team, which is picked by the League’s Managers, contained Paul Harrison, Kai Edwards, Sam Finley, Chris Jones and Mike Wilde.

On the bench for the Team of the Season was another TNS player, with the ever reliable Chris Marriott just missing out on the first eleven.

The league’s runners-up Airbus UK Broughton gain two picks with left back Lewis Short and defender Ian Kearney being named.

Two players from Welsh Cup finalists Aberystwyth are named with Golden Boot winner Chris Venables joined by his club captain Stuart Jones. The final two selections have both enjoyed excellent first full season’s in the Welsh Premier League. Declan Walker is named at right-back, having joined Bangor City from Wrexham in the close season.

The final selection, joining Mike Wilde in attack, is the athletic Christian Doidge, who has been a revelation for Carmarthen Town this season. Having joined in the January window in 2013 from Barry Town, Doidge has netted 17 League goals this term and has been linked with a move to the football league with Newport County rumoured to be interested in his signature.

Official Welsh Premier League Team of the Season

Goalkeeper: Paul Harrison (TNS)

Defenders: Declan Walker (BAN), Stuart Jones (ABR), Ian Kearney (AIR), Kai Edwards (TNS), Lewis Short (AIR)

Midfielders: Sam Finley (TNS), Chris Venables (ABR), Chris Jones (TNS)

Strikers: Mike Wilde (TNS), Christian Doidge (CAR)

Goalkeepers: Steve Cann (CAR), Ashley Morris (BAL)
Defenders: Carl Evans (CAR); Chris Marriott (TNS)
Midfielders: Tom Field (AIR); Mark Connolly (BAL)
Strikers: Chris Budrys (AIR)