TNS Ladies lift Shropshire Womens Cup

The TNS Ladies beat their West Midlands League Premier Division rivals Allscott Ladies 6-0 to win the Shropshire Women’s Cup for the 3rd consecutive year in a one-sided final at Shrewsbury Town’s Greenhous Meadow ground.
It avenged their 2-3 defeat by Allscott in the 2011 final and completed a hat-trick of wins over Allscott in the meetings this season, with TNS having done the double over them in the league.
TNS got off to a dream start when Laura Morris’ cross from the right was spilled by Allscott keeper Hannah Speake and Emily Ridge tapped in from close range with just 43 seconds on the watch.
Just 82 seconds later (in the 3rd minute), it was 2-0 when Morris crossed from the right and Sophie Edwards headed into Speake’s top right hand corner from 8 yards.
It was 3-0 in the 14th minute when Nicola Walford’s ball forward from the back found Chloe Mapp whose great low  through ball down the middle found Morris, who ran on before tucking her shot past Speake from the edge of the box to leave Allscott with a mountain to climb.
TNS suffered a blow in the 25th minute when the influential Morris was injured in a collision with Allscott’s Leonie Speake and after a 10 minute stoppage, Morris was stretchered off and replaced in the 35th minute by Megan Haynes.  Morris was initially thought to have had a suspected broken ankle but it later turned out to be just ligament damage.
It was 4-0 in the 51st minute when Ridge ran down the right and into the box before her low cross was missed by Mapp with the ball running across the box to Jaime Duggan, who fired a low right foot shot from 12 yards into keeper Speake’s left hand corner.
Then in the 60th minute, Duggan’s through ball down the left found Ridge who ran into the box before being brought down by the keeper for a clear penalty which Mapp stepped up to calmly fire into the keeper’s right hand corner to make it 5-0.
It was 6-0 in the 74th minute when Ridge won a tackle on the left and beat 2 players on her way into the box before firing a right foot shot from 12 yards past keeper Speake at her right hand post.
Saints could have won by a bigger margin and although Allscott kept battling till the end, the damage had long since been done.
The players of the match for their respective sides were voted by the Shropshire FA as Jaime Duggan for TNS and Casey Starling for Allscott.  Moments later, the trophy was presented to jubilant TNS skipper Amy Tomei by Mr David Rowe, Director of the Shropshire Football Association.
TNS: Charlotte Edmunds, Hannah Yates, Caitlin Arrowsmith, Katy Huntbach, Nicola Walford, Jaime Duggan, Sophie Edwards, Emily Ridge, Chloe Mapp, Laura Morris, Amy Tomei.  Subs: Kim Winton (for Ridge 75), Megan Haynes (for Morris 35), Jenny Smith (not used), Sarah Burke (for Mapp 61), Ellie Dickin (not used).
Allscott: Hannah Speake, Leonie Speake, Stacey Garnham, Jamie Phillips, Casey Starling, Kim James, Vicky Harper, Isha Alsadek, Julie Stirrup, Stacey Aitken-Best, Kelly Dowling.