Saints finish pre-season with comfortable victory

The New Saints beat FC Oswestry Town by fourteen goals to nil in a friendly at Park Hall Stadium.

The Community Club Partner went behind in the first minute after a flowing move from The Saints, ended up with Greg Draper converting from close range having being expertly picked out by Simon Spender.

On the fourth minute, Draper completed his brace from close range and ten minutes later the New Zealand International scored another close range goal to earn his hat-trick.

Soon after Paul Morris expertly tipped Draper’s powerful attempt on to the bar as The Saints continued to dominate the half.

With ten minutes left to play in the first half, Sam Finley’s deflected strike looped over Morris and gave Craig Harrison’s side a fourth goal.

In the 42nd minute of the game Ryan Edwards was played in by Adrian Cieslewicz and magnificently lobbed Morris to make it five nil to the Welsh Premier League Champions.

A minute later, Connell Rawlinson added a sixth goal and seconds later Draper added a seventh to ensure that TNS went into the break seven nil up.

Harrison decided to swap the entire side at the break and within minutes, Alex Darlington added the eighth goal of the night.

With twenty five minutes left to play, Darlington completed his brace with a delicate chip into the corner of the net.

Mike Wilde added a tenth after latching onto a brilliant pass from Aeron Edwards and Ryan Fraughan made it eleven nil with an unstoppable strike from the edge of the box.

With ten minutes left to play, Chris Seargeant struck an excellent shot into the top corner to make it 12 nil to The Saints and moments later Wilde completed his brace to give TNS a thirteen goal advantage.

With a minute left on the clock, Darlington scored the goal of the game. The former Wrexham man lobbed the Oswestry goalkeeper from 30 yards out to ensure an emphatic fourteen nil victory.

The New Saints line up for the first half was made up of Paul Harrison, Simon Spender, Kai Edwards, Sam Finley, Greg Draper, Matty Williams, Connell Rawlinson, Ryan Edwards, Adrian Cieslewicz, Scott Quigley and Luke Douglas.

The New Saints line up for the second half was made up of Chris Mullock, Chris Marriott, Phil Baker, Steve Evans, Scott Ruscoe, Ryan Fraughan, Chris Seargeant, Mike Wilde, Alex Darlington, Aeron Edwards and Ryan Kerhsaw.

The FC Oswestry Town line up was Paul Morris, Elliot Howes, Joe Evans, Rob Shone, Oliver Jones, Richard Morris (Callum Williams 46), Scott Bright, Graeme Kirkham (Martin Cheeseman 46),  Kurt Smith, Stefan Ivanov (Harry Kerr 46) and Adam Jones (Graham Dyke 46)

The unused substitutes for the visitors was Lee Davies.