Saints see off Steelmen

The New Saints beat Port Talbot two nil at Park Hall Stadium thanks to goals from Alex Darlington and Greg Draper.

A goal in each half ensured that The Saints returned to the top of the Welsh Premier League.

The visitors frustrated Craig Harrison’s side for large periods by defending very deep in what was a dull opening twenty minutes.

However, Draper did manage to beat Steven Cann but the goal was ruled out for offside.

Moments later, Sam Finley picked out Draper and after expertly turning past Lee Surman, Cann thwarted the TNS number nine with an excellent save.

The visitors pushed forward as the first half went on and soon after The Saints broke the deadlock. A controversial penalty was awarded to the home side and Darlington confidently stepped up and sent Cann the wrong way, to give his side the lead.

The second half started with a great move from TNS that ended up with Aeron Edwards forcing Cann into a great save.

TNS controlled the possession in the second half without the visitors ever really testing Paul Harrison.

Matty Williams replaced Darlington with twenty minutes to go and within seconds, Draper smashed in The Saints’ second goal of the game. Finley dribbled into the box and found Draper in space, who magnificently smashed the ball into the top corner from eight yards out.

Casey Thomas tested Harrison from just outside the box with a powerful strike that the TNS captain did brilliantly to keep out.

However, The Saints controlled the final few minutes and ensured that they returned to the top spot in the Corbett Sports Welsh Premier League.

The New Saints: Paul Harrison (C), Simon Spender, Chris Marriott, Phil Baker, Kai Edwards, Sam Finley, Greg Draper (Mike Wilde 79), Ryan Fraughan (Scott Quigley 73), Chris Seargeant, Alex Darlington (Matty Williams 68) and Aeron Edwards.

The unused substitutes were Connell Rawlinson, Ryan Edwards, Ryan Kershaw and Ryan Pryce.

Port Talbot: Steven Cann, Carl Evans, Ashley Evans (C), Keyon Reffel, Lee Surman, Corey Thomas, Luke Bowen, Kieron Lewis, Liam McCreesh, Martin Rose and Daniel Sheehan.

The unused substitutes for Port Talbot were Rhys Griffiths, Casey Thomas, James Parry, Leigh De Vulgt and Luke Borrelli.