Saints Survive Scare

The New Saints battled back from two goals down to win 3-2 against Caernarfon Town and secure their place in the fourth round of the FAW Welsh Cup.

Goals from Mike Wilde, Chris Marriott and Jamie Mullan were enough to deny a spirited Caernarfon side at The Oval.

The Canaries took a shock lead in the seventh minue after Nathan Craig fired in an unstoppbale free kick from a tight angle.

Darren Thomas nearly doubled the lead moments later but his powerful drive was palmed out by Paul Harrison.

Midway through the first half, the home side doubled their lead. A brilliant run from the impressive Thomas ended up with the Caernarfon number ten unleashing an excellent shot into the top corner.

Craig Harrison responded to the setback by bringing on Sam Finley and within seconds, the energetic midfielder had a chance to pull a goal back. However, despite the ball bouncing perfectly for Finley, his powerful half volley flew over the bar.

Two minutes before the half time whistle, Wilde managed to reduce the deficit after he expertly volleyed in Chris Seargeant’s cross from four yards out.

The Saints then managed to equalise a minute later. Some excellent build up play from Harrison’s side ended up with Marriott firing a low shot past Paul Pritchard but remarkbly that wasn’t the last bit of action in the first half.

Mullan managed to keep his composure in the box after being picked out by Seargeant to ensure that TNS went into the break leading by three goals to two having scored three goals in just seven minutes.

A minute into the second half and The Saints nearly extended their lead. An excellent cross from Adrian Cieslewicz was met by Seargeant, who headed against the bar as TNS started to take control of the match.

TNS had further chances thanks to Finley and Wilde but Pritchard remained hard to beat.

As the game went on, The Saints continued to dominate possesion and nearly finished the tie off when Scott Quigley, who had just come on, struck the post from the edge of the box with a powerful low drive.

TNS: Paul Harrison, Simon Spender, Chris Marriott, Kai Edwards, Connell Rawlinson, Matty Williams (Sam Finley 33), Chris Seargeant, Aeron Edwards, Mike Wilde, Adrian Cieslewicz and Jamie Mullan (Scott Quigley 80).

The unused substitues were Greg Draper, Phil Baker and Alex Darlington.

Sponsored by Planet Hippo