Saints Safely Progress Into Quarters

The New Saints of Oswestry Town advanced into the Quarter Final of the FAW Welsh Cup after beating Gresford Athletic by three goals to nil at Park Hall Stadium.

Chris Marriott’s goal on the hour mark gave Craig Harrison’s side the lead and within five minutes, Greg Draper doubled the lead. Matty Williams added a third late on as The Saints advanced into the next round.

The reigning Champions dominated the possession in the early part of the game but failed to create anything of note despite having Gresford pinned back in their own half.

Just before the half hour mark, Marriott managed to dribble into the box but his powerful drive was palmed out by Jon Hill Dunt in the Gresford goal.

A minute later, Jamie Mullan picked out Jamie Reed but the former York striker shot over from close range as TNS continued to dominate proceedings.

Hill Dunt then produced a brilliant double save to deny Mullan before thwarting Draper.

TNS continued to look for an opening but the very organised visitors ensured that the sides went into the break level.

The second half started in a similar fashion and within minutes Phil Baker had a great chance to open the scoring. The powerful defender was unmarked in the box but headed wide from close range.

The goal did finally come through Marriott. Mullan’s lob bounced off the bar and Marriott managed to scramble the ball over the line to give The Saints the lead.

Five minutes later and it was two nil. Substitute Williams expertly picked out Mullan, who teed up Draper, leaving the striker an open goal. The TNS number nine passed into the empty net to give TNS a two goal advantage.

A defensive mix up then ended up with Michael Latham skipping past Paul Harrison but his weak effort rolled into the side netting from a tight angle.

With ten minutes remaining, Williams curled his shot into the top corner from just inside the box to complete the scoring.


The New Saints: Harrison (C), Pryce (Spender 60), Rawlinson, Baker, K.Edwards, Marriott, A.Edwards (Wilde 71), Draper, Cieslewicz, Mullan and Reed (Williams 66).

The unused substitutes were Mullock and Quigley.



Sponsored by Planet Hippo