Saints Clinch Record Ninth League Title

The New Saints of Oswestry Town clinched the Corbett Sports Welsh Premier League title after beating Bala Town 3-0 at Park Hall Stadium to secure a record ninth Welsh Premier League Championship.

The Saints began well and opened the scoring when Adrian Cieslewicz converted from close range to give The Saints a perfect start.

Craig Harrison’s side dominated possession for long periods in the first half and tested Ashley Morris moments later.

A wonderful free kick from Chris Marriott looked destined for the top corner but Morris prevented the ball hitting the net with an excellent save.

The Oswestry based club looked in control throughout the first half and went into the break leading by a solitary goal.

The second half began with Mike Wilde firing over from close range after being expertly picked out by Jamie Mullan.

However, TNS managed to double the lead soon after thanks to a Matty Williams goal. Mullan was once again involved and it was his cross that was diverted in by the TNS number 10.

On the hour mark, Kai Edwards and Cieslewicz superbly set up Wilde who was unlucky to see his shot deflect inches wide of the near post.

Moments later Bala went up the other end and nearly pulled a goal back but Paul Harrison’s magnificent save denied Mike Hayes.

However, The Saints all but secured a ninth WPL Championship when Williams completed his brace. The former Manchester United forward slotted home from six yards out after once again being picked out by the impressive Mullan.

In what was the final attack of the game, substitute Scott Quigley shot just wide from a tight angle, moments before the full time whistle was blown and TNS were crowned WPL Champions!


The New Saints: Harrison (C), Spender, Marriott, Baker, Rawlinson, A.Edwards (Seargeant 68), Mullan, Cieslewicz (Quigley 78), Williams and Wilde (Draper 80).

The unused substitutes were Mullock, Kershaw, Darlington, and Pryce.



Sponsored by Planet Hippo