Superb Saints Continue Winning Streak

The New Saints continued their unbeaten season by beating Port Talbot Town by three goals to one at the Genquip Stadium.

Liam McCreesh surprisingly broke the deadlock before Mike Wilde cancelled it out moments before the half time whistle.

Connell Rawlinson converted from a corner at the start of the second half to give TNS the lead and then Wilde completed his brace with 20 minutes remaining, to ensure the points would be heading back to Park Hall Stadium.

Craig Harrison’s Champions began well, with Adrian Cieslewicz and Aeron Edwards forcing Steven Cann into action early on.

However, it was Port Talbot who broke the deadlock after 22 minutes when McCreesh converted from eight yards out. The forward did well to dribble into the box and tucked the ball past Paul Harrison to give the home side a surprise lead.

Chris Marriott then smashed a powerful shot against the woodwork after a neat exchange with Matty Williams.

Andy Dyer’s team then had a chance to double the lead but Martin Rose’s header went just wide of the post after being left unmarked in the box.

However, with a minute left in the first half, Wilde’s excellent header levelled the match for The Saints.

The Saints started the second half well and nearly took the lead thanks to Williams. Marriott’s cross picked out Williams but his powerful volley whistled just wide of the post.

Rawlinson then gave his side the lead in the 52nd minute. The tall defender headed past Cann after latching onto a brilliant corner from Marriott.

On the hour mark, Harrison sent on Scott Quigley and Chris Seargeant and within minutes TNS added a third goal.

Quigley’s cross was brought down by Phil Baker, before Wilde converted from close range to make it three one to the WPL Champions.

The Saints controlled the majority of the possession towards the end of the game and played out the final ten minutes of the fixture without testing Cann.



TNS: Harrison (C), Spender, Marriott, Baker, K.Edwards, Rawlinson, A.Edwards (Darlington 81), Cieslewicz Mullan (Seargeant 62), Williams (Quigley 62) and Wilde.

The unused substitutes were Draper and Reed.


Sponsored by Planet Hippo