How TNS won the WPL for a Fourth Consecutive Time

How TNS won the League?

The New Saints successfully retained their Corbett Sports Welsh Premier League crown on the 10th of March, 2015 and in the process made it four consecutive League triumphs.

Craig Harrison’s Championship winning team have now won the last four League titles along with two FAW Welsh Cups (another one maybe yet to come this season) and a League Cup during the past four seasons.

The Saints have also yet to be defeated in domestic competition this season.

TNS began the season with a home game against Bangor City back in August 2014.  Goals in each half from Greg Draper and Sam Finley sealed a two nil victory for the Champions who got off to a perfect start.

A tricky trip away at Aberystwyth Town followed three days later and with only twenty minutes left to play, TNS trailed by a goal to nil. However, Finley managed to grab a dramatic equaliser which ensured that The Saints remained unbeaten.

The Saints then went on a five match winning run which included impressive victories over Rhyl and Gap Connah’s Quay.

Two Magnificent last gasp wins away at Airbus and Newtown followed in the month in October which resulted in The Saints going clear at the top of the WPL table.

The following month saw TNS thrash rivals Bangor City by five goals to nil as well as pick up three points at home to Port Talbot. However, the other three fixtures in the month ended up being draws.

Harrison’s Saints were unstoppable in December, winning all three fixtures including an impressive 5-1 away victory against Port Talbot.

2015 started with a magnificent away performance at Cefn Druids which proved to be the catalyst for the month ahead. A reinvigorated TNS side won all six matches in the month of January, scoring an unbelievable 22 goals and only conceding two goals along the way.

With ten points needed to win the title, the Oswestry based side managed to retain their WPL crown in the following four games after beating Bala Town by three goals to nil at Park Hall Stadium.

In what was an excellent team effort from the whole side, The Saints also managed to keep eight clean sheets in a row prior to clinching the League title, with yet another one to make it nine games in row in which TNS had not conceded.

Since lifting the title, The Saints have continued winning and now find themselves only four games away from going through the whole 2014/2015 campaign unbeaten.





Sponsored by Planet Hippo