Wilde Inducted into Chester Hall of Fame

The New Saints’ Mike Wilde, whose goals fired former club Chester City to the Evo-Stik Division One North title in the reformed club’s inaugural season, has been confirmed as the latest Chester FC Hall of Fame inductee.

Wilde who is currently in his second spell with The Saints, received the honour after Chester’s game against Dartford on Tuesday the 17th of March.

Neil Young signed the Birkenhead-born striker from Fleetwood in July 2010 and he scored a hat-trick in the fan-owned club’s first home league match, a 6-0 win against Trafford.

Wilde ended the campaign with a magnificent 36 goals in just 43 league games as the Blues clinched the title in a nail-biting finale at Garforth.

Although injuries restricted his appearances the following season, Wilde was part of the Chester squad that won the Evo-Stik Premier Division title.

He scored 46 goals in 66 games in all competitions before leaving in summer 2012 to re-join the Corbett Sports Welsh Premier League Champions.

Wilde became the 13th member of the Chester FC Hall of Fame alongside Grenville Millington, Gary Talbot, Daryl Clare, Peter Jackson, Stuart Rimmer, Trevor Storton, Derek Draper, Iain Jenkins, Mike Metcalf, Elfed Morris, Ken Roberts and George Horan.

The TNS number 18 has been prolific since returning to the WPL and having won the Golden Boot in 2013/2014 the striker has scored an impressive 15 League goals during the current campaign.



Sponsored by Planet Hippo