Saints Smash Carmarthen for Six

Dafabet Welsh Premier League Champions, The New Saints thrashed Carmarthen Town at Richmond Park tonight by six goals to one thanks to goals from Kai Edwards, Jamie Mullan, Chris Marriott and a wonderful hat-trick from Scott Quigley

Despite the pitch being extremely difficult to play on due to the length of the grass on the pitch, Craig Harrison’s Saints dominated from start to finish and were four nil up after only half an hour. Two more goals followed in the second half as TNS secured another win the WPL.

The New Saints began brightly and opened the scoring after only three minutes. Kai Edwards found himself unmarked in the box and directed his header into the top corner, leaving Lee Idzi with no chance.

The Saints then doubled the lead after 16 minutes. Quigley did really well to hold onto the ball inside the box before turning and slotting past the Carmarthen goalkeeper to give TNS a 2-0 lead.

Eight minutes later and The Saints made it three. A brilliant run from Ryan Edwards ended up with Mullan converting from an extremely tight angle to all but secure the points.

The points were secure ten minutes later when Quigley completed his brace. After Paul Harrison’s superb kick picked out the winger, Quigley drove forward and curled an unstoppable shot into the top corner to give TNS a 4-0 lead after half an hour.

The second half began with The Saints again dominating possession and made it five nil when Marriott’s free kick took a wicked deflection and wrong footed Idzi.

A minute later and Kai Edwards won his side a penalty after he was brought down in the box. Quigley stepped up and completed his hat-trick by converting past Idzi.

Carmarthen did score a late consolation thanks to Mark Jones. The big striker managed to head in from a corner and that is how the match ended.

Full time: Carmarthen 1-6 TNS.



TNS: Harrison (C), Spender (Jones 66), Marriott, Baker, K.Edwards, A.Edwards, R.Edwards, Quigley, Mullan, Draper and Seargeant (Gosset 46 ((Evans 54)).

Unused substitutes were Wycherley, Darlington, Cieslewicz and Williams.