Saints Edge Out Seven Goal Thriller

The New Saints of Oswestry Town made it nine wins in a row in all competitions after edging out MBi Llandudno in a seven goal thriller at a very windy Park Maesdu.

The Saints came out on top and left with a 4-3 victory after goals from Adrian Cieslewicz, Steve Evans, Mike Wilde and Chris Seargeant.

The home side took a shock lead when Marc Williams converted from the edge of the box in the opening minute.

However, the lead didn’t last long and TNS were level in the ninth minute thanks to Cieslewicz. The winger cut in from the edge of the box and rolled the ball in past Dave Roberts.

Five minutes later and Evans managed to turn the game around by heading in from a corner to give The Saints the lead. The cultured defender powered in a bullet header from six yards out leaving Roberts with no chance.

The Saints then began to control the game despite the windy conditions and on the half hour mark Wilde extended the advantage. Cieslewicz’s excellent cross picked out Wilde who powerfully headed in from eight yards out to give TNS a two goal advantage at the break.

The second half began with The Saints once again controlling the ball despite the difficult conditions.

Ten minutes into the second half, substitute Liam Dawson broke forward but his low shot flew just wide.

A minute later, The Saints went up the other end but were denied after a wonderful double save from Roberts.

However, the game was all but over in the 68th minute. The impressive Cieslewicz was brought down in the box and Seargeant stepped up and sent Roberts the wrong way to give TNS a 4-1 lead.

In the 76th minute, Williams completed his brace and reduced the deficit for the home side and with only minutes to play, substitute Lewis Buxley pulled another goal back but Craig Harrison’s side held on despite a bit of late pressure from the home side.
Full time: MBi Llandudno 3-4 The New Saints.


TNS: Harrison (C), Spender, K.Edwards, Baker, Evans, Seargeant, Williams (Mullan 87), Darlington (R.Edwards 81) , Cieslewicz (Parry 71), A.Edwards and Wilde.

The unused substitutes were Wycherley, Jones and Pryce.