Dominant Saints Move One Step Closer to Title

The New Saints of Oswestry Town moved one step closer to retaining the Dafabtet Welsh Premier League title after a comprehensive 2-0 victory against MBi Llandudno at Park Hall Stadium.

Goals from Jamie Mullan and Adrian Cieslewicz secured the points for The Saints who controlled the game from start to finish.

After 17 minutes Aeron Edwards had a great chance to open the scoring but his header flew over the bar with Dave Roberts beaten.

Half an hour into the game, MBi Llandudno’s Liam Dawson broke forward and curled an effort just over.

Moments later, James Joyce shot wide from a similar position as the visitors looked to break the deadlock.

Minutes before the half time whistle, Greg Draper found space in the box but his effort was kept out by a diving Roberts.

However, on the stroke of half time Ryan Brobbel’s superb flick set up Mullan who powered in from just inside the box to give TNS a deserved lead.

The second half began with TNS dominating the game and on the hour mark, The Saints doubled the lead. A well worked short corner ended up with Marriott shooting from the edge of the box and Cieslewicz tapping in from close range.

A minute later and Mike Williams shot inches wide from just inside the box as the visitors looked for a way back into the game.

Craig Harrison sent on Scott Quigley with 15 minutes left and the powerful forward set up Draper with his first touch but the striker curled his effort just over the bar.

TNS played out the remainder of the game with ease and moved one step closer to another WPL title.



TNS: Harrison (C), Spender, Marriott, Baker, K.Edwards, A.Edwards, Seargeant, Brobbel, Mullan, Cieslewicz (Quigley 76) and Draper (Wilde 82).

The unused substitutes were Wycherley, Pryce, R.Edwards, Williams and Rawlinson.