TNS Secure Fifth Consecutive WPL Title

The New Saints of Oswestry Town clinched a fifth consecutive Dafabet Welsh Premier League title and their tenth overall after a comprehensive 2-0 victory against Bala Town at Park Hall Stadium.

Going into the game, TNS knew a win would secure the championship and goals from Ryan Brobbel and Aeron Edwards ensured that The Saints could celebrate at the full time whistle.

An even enough first half saw both sides hit the woodwork. Firstly Bala hit the post after a goalmouth scramble before Aeron Edwards unleashed a fantastic effort that thundered off the cross bar.

With twenty minutes left to play, Brobbel’s first goal for the club proved to be a crucial one as the former Middlesbrough man opened the scoring. After great work from Scott Quigley, the TNS number eight found space inside the box and slotted in from close range.

The title was secure ten minutes later when Jamie Mullan picked out Aeron Edwards who coolly slotted in to secure a fifth consecutive WPL title for TNS.



TNS: Harrison (C), Spender, Pryce, Rawlinson, K.Edwards, A.Edwards, Mullan (Cieslewicz 73), Seargeant, Brobbel, Williams and Quigley.

The unused substitutes were Wycherely, R.Edwards, Wilde, Draper and Baker.