Harrison Nominated for WPL Manager of the Season

The shortlist for the Dafabet WPL Manager of the Season has been announced with Harrison, Morgan and Morrison up for the award.

Three top bosses have been nominated for the big gong of Manager of the Season following another tremendous campaign in the Dafabet Welsh Premier League.

Craig Harrison (The New Saints)
Alan Morgan (MBi Llandudno)
Andy Morrison (gap Connah’s Quay)

The New Saints boss Craig Harrison collected the Dafabet WPL Manager of the Month award twice during the season most recently following TNS secured their tenth Dafabet WPL title as they were crowned Champions at the beginning of April. Harrison’s men secured the fifth consecutive title at home against Bala Town winning 2-0 thanks to goals from Ryan Brobel and Aeron Edwards.

The New Saints secured their sixth JD Welsh Cup trophy and an unprecedented Double-Treble of Welsh Football’s major honours as they beat first-time finalists Airbus UK Broughton 2-0 in font of a buoyant crowd at The Glyndwr University Racecourse Stadium in Wrexham. Earlier in the season, the club defeated Denbigh Town 2-0 in theWord. Cup Final at Llandudno.

MBi Llandudno manager Alan Morgan has brought a breath of fresh air the to Dafabet WPL this season as his club enjoyed a fairy-tale first ever season in the top flight of Welsh football. The gaffers efforts earned earned Alan two Dafabet Manager of the Month Awards in November and February.

Morgan’s men not only initially secure Top Six football as the split after Phase One but battled Bala Town to the very end finishing in third place just points behind the Lakesiders. With TNS winning the JD Welsh Cup, Tudno gained the final UEFA Europa League Qualifying Round spot this Summer.

gap Connah’s Quay appointed Andy Morrison as manager at the beginning of January with the club battling it out at the bottom end of the table for most of the season. At the split the Nomads secured Top Six football by three points finishing fifth with the team transformed under Morrison’s influence.

During Morrison’s reign the ex-Manchester City player guided gap to a JD Welsh Cup Semi-Final place where they lost to The New Saints and also guided them into the Play-Offs following finishing the season in fourth place. The Nomads progressed the to the Final of the Play-Offs after defeating Carmarthen Town at the Deeside 2-0 with goals from Nick Rushton and Wes Baynes. The Flintshire outfit regained their home advantage in the Final having finished higher in the WPL table than Airbus UK Broughton and it was that man Wes Baynes again who got the €200,000 goal and a place in the UEFA Europe League Qualifying Rounds for the first time in the clubs history.

Winners will be announced at the Dafabet WPL 2015/16 Awards on the evening of Saturday 4th June.