The New Saints 11 Caernarfon Town 0 – JD WPL Development League

Yesterday (Sunday 10th September 2017), sixteen of the new Professional Phase squad faced Caernarfon Town, in their third JD WPL Development fixture.

Once again, the average age of the group was just sixteen and it included new faces, as TNS played their first home game of the campaign.

The team played, in the words of coach Steve Benyon – “some eye-catching one-two touch football” – as they constantly probed the Caernarfon rearguard.

The dominance paid off as they were rewarded with five first half goals from Liam Parry, Harry Bower, Paul Naylor, Matt Cole and Callum Jones. Forever wanting to push the squad though, Benyon added ” in all honesty it could and should have been more.”

The second period saw The New Saints go one better, as they scored six goals. Matt Cole and Paul Naylor made it one in each half, while Guyguy Maboy and James Parry both grabbed a brace, as the home side ran out 11-0 winners.

With seven different names on the scoresheet, it shows the depth of strength that Steve Benyon has at his disposal, and as you can imagine, he was full of praise for his team afterwards.

“Credit to all the players, including the new ones added into the squad – as well as Caernarfon who kept probing till the end. The players are starting to adapt to the different demands and training regime, with everyone contributing in a positive and effective manner.”

While enjoying the present, Steve also had one eye on the immediate future, as he added: “Now on to next week’s training programme in preparation for Wednesday’s first Category 1 game at home against Myerscough, followed by Sunday’s game away to Flint”

In conclusion, he highlighted just how difficult his task is as coach: “Again what is pleasing is to see how many talented players have missed out on the squad who certainly deserved a place, but again it goes to show the real strength in depth I have at my disposal, following a positive week’s training.”



(Goals in brackets)

  1. Aaron Jones
  2. Matt Cole (2)
  3. James Parry (2)
  4. Liam Ihekwoaba
  5. Lewis Kaye
  6. Paul Naylor (2)
  7. Harry Bower (1)
  8. James Gregory-Cork
  9. Liam Parry (1)
  10. Callum Jones (1)
  11. Harley Steel
  12. Lewis Dutton
  13. Guyguy Maboy (2)
  14. Andrew Papirnyk
  15. Jordan Tipping
  16. Darren Evans


Media. Contact: