Scott Ruscoe Nominated For February’s JD WPL Manager Of The Month Award

We are pleased to announce, that following on from his JD Welsh Premier League (JD WPL) Manager Of The Month (MOTM) award for January, that Scott Ruscoe has once again been nominated, this time for February.

The month began with a 2-2 draw at Cefn Druids as the Championship Conference, as the second phase following the split is known, kicked off. Both TNS goals were scored by central defender, Connell Rawlinson, as the unbeaten start to 2018 continued.

The subsequent victories in the JD WPL against Bangor City and Connah’s Quay Nomads – with both teams having serious title ambitions of their own at the time – saw The New Saints increase the gap at the top of the table. The lead is currently twelve points over The Citizens, who are in second place, with February’s results massively contributing to the position that the club currently enjoys.

The 3-0 victory against Bangor City at Park Hall, with a well-executed brace from Aeron Edwards and a curling finish from Ryan Brobbel, was followed by a 1-0 victory at the Deeside Stadium. The crucial goal, right at the end of the first half, was scored by Jon Routledge as Scott Ruscoe saw his side collect all three points against Connah’s Quay Nomads.

Away from the JD WPL, the only blot on an otherwise excellent copybook was the 2-1 reversal against Dumbarton in the Irn-Bru Cup semi-final game at Park Hall. Although The New Saints took the lead, courtesy of Dean Ebbe’s third goal for the club, the Sons hit back to claim a place in the final.

Along with Scott, the other MOTM nominees are Bala Town’s Colin Caton, Gavin Chesterfield from Barry Town United and Kevin Nicholson at Bangor City.

Although we did the double in January, as Aeron Edwards won the Player Of The Month award, this time round we have no nominations in that category. Up for the accolade though are Mike Lewis, Alec Mudimu, Nick Rushton and Declan Walker.

Voting for the public is via the JD WPL Twitter account and you have until Sunday evening (March 11) to register yours, when the poll will close at 8.00 p.m. The votes from the Twitter poll constitute 20% of the total in deciding the ultimate winners.

Lead photograph: Scott Ruscoe at the Deeside Stadium in February’s 1-0 win against Connah’s Quay Nomads.




Media. Contact: