The New Saints Of Oswestry Town v Cefn Druids – Match Preview

On Sunday, March 25 2018, The New Saints of Oswestry Town host near-neighbours, Cefn Druids, in what could be the game that decides this season’s JD Welsh Premier League (JD WPL).

However, The New Saints could have already won the league if Bala Town fail to beat Connah’s Quay Nomads in Friday’s game (March 23) at Maes Tegid. Of course, at the time of writing that result is not known, but even if the Lakesiders do pick up three points, all Scott Ruscoe’s side will need to do on Sunday is avoid defeat and it’s game over.

In what has been a competitive campaign, for a number of weeks the lead at the top changed hands regularly as Bangor City, Cardiff Metropolitan University FC and Connah’s Quay Nomads all took turns in pole position. A great run of form from The New Saints though – unbeaten in the JD WPL in 2018 – has seen the team surge ahead.

Prior to the game on Friday evening, only Bala Town can catch TNS on points. But with a gap of fifteen points, just five games to go and a goal difference of forty six between the reigning champions and the Lakesiders, it certainly isn’t presumptuous to call The New Saints champions-elect.

The three games against Cefn Druids so far this season have resulted in two wins for the Saints – 4-0 at Park Hall and 3-1 at The Rock – with the second away game that kicked off Phase Two in the JD WPL, ending in a 2-2 draw.

The game on Sunday kicks off at the unusual time of 13.59 p.m. (originally scheduled for 14.00 p.m.) at the request of the broadcaster. In addition, the half-time break will be thirteen minutes from whistle to whistle.

Live on S4C’s Sgorio, you can also follow the game on TNS Radio (the link is here on our website home page) with updates on our Twitter account (@tnsfc).

Admission to Park Hall is £8.00 for adults with concessions at £4.00. Children are £1.00.

The match ball sponsor for the game is Oswestry Central Pigeon Club. If you’re interested in matchday sponsorship, contact:

The officials for the game are: Bryn Markham Jones / Dan Beckett, Bryn Jones / Nick Pratt / Cliff Evans


Media. Contact: