Caernarfon Town v The New Saints FC – The Last Time We Met

Although Friday’s (August 31, 2018) opponents were in the Huws Gray Cymru Alliance last season, paths crossed between the two sides in the Nathaniel MG Cup at the quarter-final stage.

The game, at Park Hall on October 24 2017, saw the visitors in claret and blue as opposed to their more familiar yellow and green.

The Tuesday night fixture witnessed a number of Caernarfon supporters gathered behind the open end in the first half, hoping to see the then manager, Iwan Williams, lead the side to victory against the holders of the competition.

However, with just four minutes on the clock, following a foul on Ryan Brobbel in the box, the deadlock was broken by Chris Seargeant as he slotted home from the penalty spot.

Although eventually surpassed by team mate, Greg Draper, Seargeant was the JD Welsh Premier League’s leading scorer at that time.

The half ended 1-0 to The New Saints with both sides creating chances. In the 78th minute though, it was game, set and match, as great work from substitute Jamie Mullan found Alex Darlington in the box, who slotted past Alex Ramsay in the Caernarfon goal to put the Saints in the semis.

The TNS starting line-up was: Harrison, Spender, Marriott, Rawlinson, Routledge, Seargeant, Brobbel, Roberts, Leak, Clark, Darlington. On the bench were: Draper, Jones (A), Mullan, Jones (C), Cole.

Lead image: Ryan Brobbel in action against Caernarfon Town. Credit: Brian Jones.



Media. Contact: