Cwmbran Celtic v The New Saints FC – Match Preview

It’s another trip to south Wales for The New Saints FC this Saturday (December 8, 2018), with Cwmbran Celtic the opponents in the JD Welsh Cup.

The third round tie sees Scott Ruscoe’s side take on Welsh Football League Division One opponents for the second time in as many weeks, following the game at Cambrian & Clydach Vale BGC in the Nathaniel MG Cup on November 23.

With defeat in the Rhondda Valley, the Welsh Cup remains the last hope of domestic knock-out silverware for The New Saints. Having lifted the trophy on six occasions, the last time TNS did so was in the 2015/2016 season, with a 2-0 victory against Airbus UK Broughton at The Racecourse Ground, Wrexham.

Currently in with the cluster of teams at the top of the table chasing promotion to the top flight, the south Walians take a break from league action as they welcome Scott Ruscoe’s side to Henllys Way.

Although The New Saints enter the competition at the third round stage, The Celts have played twice already. In the mix at round one, Lee Challenger’s side beat Ammanford AFC at home 3-0.

With neither team at that time realising who their opponents would be, this was followed by a 3-1 victory on the road at Sully Sports, ensuring that Cwmbran Celtic were represented in the third round draw.

The game will be played at Celtic Park, Henllys Way, Cwmbran, NP44 7YS with a kick-off time of 1.30 p.m.

With recent Welsh Cup history of their own, Cwmbran also reached the third round last season, before losing to eventual winners and current JD Welsh Premier League leaders, Connah’s Quay Nomads.

In 2015 / 2016 they made the last eight before exiting the competition 2-1 against Port Talbot Town, who at that time were a top flight side managed by Andy Dyer.

Cwmbran Celtic will be in their first choice yellow shirts, blue shorts and yellow socks, with the goalkeeper in sky blue. The New Saints will be in the familiar green and white hooped shirts, white shorts and white socks. The goalkeeper will be wearing a grey and pink shirt with grey shorts and grey socks.

The format is, if the scores are level after 90 minutes, that the usual extra-time periods of fifteen minutes each way will be played. Following that, if there is still no winner, the tie will be decided by a penalty shoot-out.

Three substitutions are allowed during the 90 minute period, with a 4th allowed if the game goes to extra time.

The officials are as follows: Gavin Townsend (referee), Ashley Davis and Ewan Reed (assistants) and Alex McInch (4th official).


Media. Contact: