RAF Ladies Retain Lynsey Miller Trophy After 3-1 Win Against Royal Navy Women

RAF Ladies retained the Lynsey Miller Trophy following a 3-1 victory against Royal Navy Women at Park Hall tonight.

After an Anthea Kaptein penalty drew the Navy Level just before half-time, the RAF made their superiority count in the second period to clinch the win.

It was an evenly contested match in the opening 15 minutes with both sides having their chances. RAF’s Lauren Impey couldn’t get on the end of a ball over the top, while a great save from the Air Force’s keeper prevented the Navy from taking the lead.

The deadlock was eventually broken in the 22nd minute, as an unfortunate own goal from the Navy’s Emily Wyse gave their counterparts the lead.

Navy Women had the chance to hit back instantly though. Rosie McDonnell was found in space on the edge of the six-yard-box but could only blaze over the crossbar.

As evidenced by the eventual 5 minutes of stoppage time, the first period was a stop-start affair with both sides seeing players down for lengthy treatment.

But, just a minute before the board went up, the Navy Women found their way back into the match. A challenge in the area lead to the referee awarding a penalty, and Anthea Kaptein stepped up to dispatch it convincingly.

However, it took just nine minutes after the break for the RAF to retake the lead. Substitute Zara McIntosh did well to round goalkeeper Louise Worsfold, before finishing into the empty net, making the score RAF 2-1 Navy.

And it could so easily have been three moments later, as Impey diverted an effort onto the crossbar, before the ball bounced out and was scrambled clear.

The RAF managed the game well in the time that ensued, limiting their Navy counterparts to few opportunities of note, making the remainder of the half almost eventless.

Another five minutes went up on the board for second-half stoppage time, ensuring a nervy ending for the RAF and their supporters.

Much to their delight though, Natasha Kenny added a third goal in the fourth minute of stoppage time, sealing the win, and ensuring the RAF were crowned Lynsey Miller Trophy champions for the second consecutive year.


Media. Contact: sam.wood@tnsfc.co.uk