Where Do TNS FC’s 8 Consecutive League Title Wins Rank Them In Europe

The New Saints FC have won the JD Welsh Premier League title in each of the last eight seasons – a record never before seen in the Welsh domestic game.

But how does TNS’ current run compare to that of other clubs around Europe?

The Welsh champions are currently joint second in the rankings of current winning streaks, with Scottish champions Celtic, Italian giants Juventus and Bulgarian winners, Ludogorets Razgrad, joining them on eight titles apiece.

Belarusian champions, BATE Borisov, are the runaway leaders though, having won each of the last 13 league seasons – an incredible run stretching all the way back to 2006.

As you can see from the list below, Scott Ruscoe’s side are in some illustrious company, with German champions, Bayern Munich, one of the other clubs joining the two previous Champions League winners we’ve already mentioned in the standings.

The current world record for most consecutive league title wins is held by Tafea FC from the Oceanic Island of Vanuatu, who won 15 straight titles between 1994 and 2009, so The Saints still have some way to go should they wish to pick up another Guinness World Record.

Longest current winning runs

13 – BATE Borisov (Belarus) 2006–

8 – Juventus (Italy) 2011/12–

8 – The New Saints (Wales) 2011/12–

8 – Celtic (Scotland) 2011/12–

8 – Ludogorets Razgrad (Bulgaria) 2011/12–

7 – APOEL (Cyprus) 2012/13–

7 – Bayern Munich (Germany) 2012/13–

6 – Red Bull Salzburg (Austria) 2013/14–

6 – Qarabag (Azerbaijan) 2013/14–

6 – Santa Coloma (Andorra) 2013/14–


Media. Contact: sam.wood@tnsfc.co.uk