The New Saints FC’s Eight Consecutive JD Cymru Premier Wins Become A New European Record

The New Saints have become joint holders of the record for most consecutive title wins in Europe, after Belarusian side, BATE Borisov, failed to capture the league championship this season.

Having won their domestic title in every year since 2006, Dinamo Brest’s 1-0 victory against FK Vitebsk yesterday (November 24) means it’s the first season in 13 years where the Eastern European nation’s most successful club aren’t celebrating victory.

It’s also elevated the champions of Wales to top spot, courtesy of their eight consecutive JD Cymru Premier title wins. They’re in some illustrious company too, with Italian champions Juventus, Scottish champions Celtic, and The Saints’ Europa League opponents this season, Ludogorets Razgrad, all emerging victorious in each of the last eight seasons.

It also means that, should The Saints to go on to make it nine successive titles, they’d stand a very strong chance of being seeded in the first qualifying round of the UEFA Champions League, just like they were in this year’s competition.

However, with more than half of the season still to be played, it’s certainly too early to be thinking about that, although Scott Ruscoe’s side will certainly be looking to strengthen their position when they return to league action against Airbus UK this Saturday.


Media. Contact: