10-Man Saints Leave Maes Tegid With A Point – Bala Town 1-1 The New Saints FC


Match Report

Yellow cards: Seargeant (30), Mullan (31), Byrne (39)
Red Cards: Marriott (34)
Substitutions: Lewis for Seargeant (55), Ebbe for Byrne (63)

Bala’s Ashley Morris pulled off a fantastic 71st minute save to deny Dean Ebbe from the penalty spot, as a 10-man Saints side left Maes Tegid with a point.

Blaine Hudson powered his side into the lead with a header after 11 minutes, before Chris Marriott was dismissed with 34 on the clock.

The sending off changed the game and following intense pressure, Steven Tames headed home the home side’s equaliser after 66 minutes.


It was a good start from the home side, as Bala looked to maintain a high press against the TNS defence. Paul Harrison was forced to send the ball long on a couple of occasions, before Chris Marriot was harried into clearing out of play.

It was The Saints that grabbed the opening goal though. Following Chris Seargeant’s corner from the left, Blaine Hudson found space in the middle to power a header past Ashley Morris in the Bala goal and give his side the lead with 12 minutes gone. 1-0.

The opening goal certainly proved to be the spark that Scott Ruscoe’s side were looking for. Ryan Brobbel found good space on the edge of the penalty area on a couple of occasions, and although he managed to get efforts away on goal, they both curled off target and out for goal kicks.

In typical TNS fashion, the visitors continued to dominate possession. With 34 minutes on the clock though, The Saints were reduced to 10 men.

After a late challenge on the Bala forward, Chris Marriott was given his marching orders by referee Nick Pratt, leaving Scott Ruscoe’s side a man light for the remainder of the match.

Almost instantly, Bala took a hold of the match. Chris Venables managed to get on the end of a ball played into the penalty area, before sending his effort over the crossbar. Fortunately for The Saints, the assistant referee signalled for offside though.

Despite having one less player, TNS continued to threaten. Just four minutes before half-time, Ryan Brobbel curled an effort just wide of the Bala goal, eventually landing on the roof of the net.


The sending off certainly changed the game, and Bala came into the second-half with their tails very much up.

Colin Caton’s side went close on a couple of occasions in the opening 10 minutes of the second period, firstly seeing an effort flash across the face of The Saints’ goal on 51 minutes, before Steven Tames fired over the crossbar from the edge of the six-yard-box two minutes later.

Bala did eventually find the equalising goal after 66 minutes. It was Tames once again, this time rising high to head the ball past Paul Harrison and into the back of the net. The intense pressure from the Lakesiders finally paying dividends

With their backs against the walls since Marriott’s dismissal, Scott Ruscoe’s side defended resolutely, yet continued to look threatening on the counter-attack.

And with 71 minutes gone, The Saints were presented with a lifeline. Jamie Mullan was brought down inside the area and Nick Pratt pointed to the penalty spot.

The task fell to substitute Dean Ebbe to fire his side back into the lead, but Ashley Morris pulled off a fantastic save low to his right to keep the scores level.

That wasn’t the end of the action though. With 11 minutes remaining, Bala’s Danny Gossett rattled the crossbar with an effort from the edge of the box, before the ball was scrambled clear.

Phenomenal defending stopped TNS leaving with all three points though. As Aeron Edwards was racing clean through on a counter-attack, both Bala centre-backs got back brilliantly, making a goal-saving challenge as Edwards was getting set to shoot.

The point leaves The Saints in third place in the JD Welsh Premier League, five points behind Connah’s Quay Nomads in first place and four adrift of Barry Town United in second.


Date Time League Season
14th December 2018 7:45 pm JD Cymru Premier 2018 – 2019


Maes Tegid
1 Maes Tegid, Bala LL23 7BF, UK


Bala Town1
The New Saints FC1

The New Saints FC

1Paul Harrison Goalkeeper
2Simon Spender Defender
3Chris Marriott Defender
8Ryan Brobbel Midfielder
12Blaine Hudson Defender
14Jamie Mullan Forward
17Dean Ebbe 21 Forward
21Kurtis Byrne 17 Forward
22Kane Lewis 7 Defender