Eight In A Row, As TNS Retain JD Welsh Premier League Title – Barry Town United 0-4 The New Saints FC


Match Report

Match report by Sam Wood

Goals: Draper (7), Mullan (71), Edwards (78), Routledge (90)
Substitutions: Ebbe for Draper (76), Cieslewicz for Brobbel (79), Byrne for Edwards (83)

The New Saints lifted the JD Welsh Premier League for an eighth consecutive season, following a dominate display against Barry Town United at Jenner Park.

It’s now 13 overall championships for Scott Ruscoe’s side, as goals from Greg Draper, Jamie Mullan, Aeron Edwards and Jon Routledge mean they won the title with two games to spare.


It was a flying start from The Saints, and they could’ve been a goal ahead after just 42 seconds. Aeron Edwards rose highest to meet a corner with his head and it took a good save from Mike Lewis to keep it out. Blaine Hudson and Greg Draper both had follow up efforts, but the hosts managed to scramble the ball clear.

It didn’t take too long for Draper to break the deadlock though. With seven minutes on the clock, Edwards set him up brilliantly with a delicate knock down, the New Zealand international volleyed home from the edge of the area to score his 25th league goal of the season.

The half certainly belonged to Scott Ruscoe’s side and the advantage could so easily have been doubled on several occasions. After Ryan Brobbel was brought down in a central area, 20 yards out from goal, the number eight stepped up to take the resulting free-kick himself.

His effort was a fantastic one, and Lewis had to be at full stretch to tip the ball onto the crossbar, before the home defence scrambled it clear for a corner.

That was the start of a succession of Saints’ free-kicks as Brobbel and Redmond forced Lewis into further saves, while Hudson saw an effort from distance sting the palms of Lewis from distance to close out the half.


The first chance of the second period fell the way of Barry, which incidentally was their first of the match. With just four minutes gone, Chris Hugh showed good speed as he got in behind the TNS defence down the left, although his effort came to nothing as captain, Paul Harrison, made his first save of the night.

Saints quickly wrestled back control of the game though and the ever-busy Brobbel went close with a further effort on the hour. After great skills to control a ball from Edwards, he saw his effort flash agonisingly wide from the edge of the six-yard-box.

But Scott Ruscoe’s side weren’t to be denied for much longer. After picking up the ball on the right, Jamie Mullan went on a mazy run past several Barry defenders and worked space for a shot. He squeezed his effort beneath Lewis and the title inched ever closer, with 20 minutes to go and the score 2-0.

If that hadn’t wrapped things up, Edwards certainly did seven minutes later. A great cross from Mullan on the right found the Wales C international inside the penalty area, who headed home from the edge of the six-yard-box, sparking scenes of celebrations from the TNS fans.

And things got sweeter in the final minute, as Jon Routledge rounded off the scoring. It was Mullan the provider once more, as after rescuing a ball in the box, he cut it back for the number six to fire home from the middle of the box.

Lead image: Tomos Lewis


Date Time League Season
13th April 2019 7:30 pm JD Cymru Premier 2018 – 2019


Jenner Park
185 Barry Rd, Barry CF62 9BG, UK


Barry Town United0
The New Saints FC4

The New Saints FC

1Paul Harrison Goalkeeper
3Chris Marriott Defender
6Jon Routledge Midfielder
8Ryan Brobbel 11 Midfielder
9Greg Draper 17 Forward
10Danny Redmond Midfielder
11Adrian Cieslewicz 8 Forward
12Blaine Hudson Defender
14Jamie Mullan Forward
17Dean Ebbe 9 Forward
21Kurtis Byrne 23 Forward
22Kane Lewis Defender
23Aeron Edwards 21 Midfielder