Saints Slip To Second Consecutive JD Cymru Premier Defeat – Caernarfon Town 1-0 The New Saints FC


Match Report

Substitutions: Draper for Ebbe (65), Mullan for Harrington (75), Whitehouse for Spender (82)

Match report: Sam Wood

Jamie Breese’s 71st minute goal condemned The New Saints to a second consecutive defeat at Caernarfon Town’s Oval ground, as they surrendered further ground in their JD Cymru Premier defence.

After an evenly contested first-half had seen the two sides go into the break on level terms, it was the Canaries who made the breakthrough midway through the second.

Scott Ruscoe’s side were unable to find an equaliser though and as a result, could find themselves seven points behind leaders, Barry Town United, come the end of the weekend.


The home side were on the front foot from the off, and enjoyed a number of chances in the opening stages as a result.

First, an edge of the box effort from Leo Smith went narrowly over the crossbar, before some last ditch defending was needed from Blaine Hudson to keep the scores level.

Buoyed by their early opportunities, the Canaries kept coming and Nathan Craig went close with a free-kick soon after.

Down the other end though, TNS threatened themselves, with Kurtis Byrne forcing a couple good saves from home goalkeeper Alex Ramsay.

It wasn’t long before Hudson was involved again, and the number 12 needed to be alert as he dispossessed Jamie Breese, following a loose header from Keston Davies in the 21st minute.

And the half continued in much the same fashion, as both Sean Eardley’s and Scott Ruscoe’s sides continued to carve out chances.

In the 33rd minute, some good link-up play between Hudson and Dean Ebbe gave the latter an opportunity in the box, but good goalkeeping from Ramsay saw the Cofi man off his line quickly.

Having caused earlier problems, Breese continued to prove a handful for The Saints defence and forced another save from Harrison in the 35th minute. Another loose ball, this time from Hudson, gave the number nine a chance to turn inside the area, with his effort keeping The Saints captain on his toes.


The opening stages of the second period began in much the same fashion as the first, with both sides seeing chances fall their way.

With 51 minutes played, Chris Marriott was called into action, as the TNS man made a key block to deny the hosts on the edge of the area.

Two minutes later, Ryan Brobbel sent an effort narrowly wide of the goal after working space on the edge the area and there were shouts for a penalty waved away, after Ebbe went to ground under challenge from Ramsay.

And after a fast-paced opening to the half, suddenly the match took on a much quieter tone. With The Saints searching for the breakthrough, Cymru Premier Golden Boot winner, Greg Draper, was introduced to proceedings with 65 minutes played, but he failed to make an instant impact.

Six minutes later though, the deadlock was broken and somewhat predictably, it was that man Breese.

After some excellent work from Daniel Brookwell, he played the ball to the lively striker inside the penalty area, and the number nine made no mistake as he finished expertly into the far corner of the goal. 1-0.

Now chasing the game, both Jamie Mullan and Billy Whitehouse were introduced, as The Saints ended the half with a flurry. With five minutes to go, Chris Marriott saw an effort cannon back off the post and bounce to safety, before Ryan Brobbel forced a save from a free-kick in the stoppage time.

However, unlike the match at Cyncoed several weeks ago, Ruscoe’s side were unable to find a late equaliser, meaning a second consecutive league defeat.


Date Time League Season
4th October 2019 7:45 pm JD Cymru Premier 2019 - 2020


The Oval
Caernarfon LL55, UK


Caernarfon Town1
The New Saints FC0

The New Saints FC

1Paul Harrison Goalkeeper
2Simon Spender 32 Defender
3Chris Marriott Defender
4Keston Davies Defender
6Jon Routledge Midfielder
7Dean Ebbe 9 Forward
8Ryan Brobbel Midfielder
9Greg Draper 7 Forward
11Adrian Cieslewicz Forward
12Blaine Hudson Defender
21Kurtis Byrne Forward
24Ryan Harrington 14 Defender
14Jamie Mullan 24 Forward
32Billy Whitehouse 2 Midfielder