A Disappointing Day At The Deeside Stadium – Connah’s Quay Nomads 1-0 The New Saints FC


Match Report

The New Saints suffered a European hangover at the Deeside Stadium, as they were defeated 1-0 by Connah’s Quay Nomads in their first away game of the season.

The Saints struggled to get going right from the first whistle, and the Nomads probably should’ve gone into the break with the lead.

It took them less than two minutes after the restart to find a goal though, as Andrew Owens beat Paul Harrison to give his side, not only the lead, but also the three points.


With less than a minute played, Rob Hughes had the first chance of the match for the Nomads, bringing a comfortable save from Paul Harrison in goal.

Blaine Hudson did well to outmuscle Michael Bakare as he set himself for an effort on goal, sending the ball out for a corner. The Saints’ defender did well from the resulting corner, getting another foot onto the ball to block it.

The home side continued to win free-kicks. This time, with 16 minutes played, Michael Bakare stepped up, with the ball on the edge of the box, and he couldn’t have come much closer with his effort, seeing it strike the base of the post.

After a slow start, The Saints found a higher gear as the half drew on. With 27 minutes gone, a poor pass from the hosts allowed Danny Redmond to break through the centre of the pitch. He tried to pick out Mullan with a forward ball, but unfortunately from a TNS perspective, the pass was cut out.

Chris Marriott caused problems for the Nomads’ defence, as he whipped in a dangerous free-kick from the left. The ball was met by the head of Hudson, before falling to Redmond to shoot. The hosts managed to get players back to block the ball though.

With just three minutes to go until the break, a good turn from Aeron Edwards in the penalty area gave him the chance to get a shot away on goal, but great defending from Nomads’ captain George Horan brought it to an end.


It took less than two minutes for The Nomads to take the lead in the second period. A misjudged header from Ben Cabango allowed Andrew Owens to collect the ball. He got a foot on it to beat the other central defender, Blaine Hudson, and get a one on one chance with Paul Harrison.

The Saints’ keeper dived low anticipating the driven shot, but a delicate lob sent the ball over the top of him and gave the home side the lead. 1-0.

A better spell of play from The New Saints followed in the next 10 minutes. Danny Redmond found Adrian Cieslewicz in space on the right of the box, but the Polish winger couldn’t keep his effort down and it went high over the crossbar.

It was almost two for the Nomads with 67 minutes gone. Collecting the ball around 25 yards away from goal, Declan Poole drilled an effort towards Harrison’s goal and just for a moment, it looked like it would nestle in the back of the net.

With 15 minutes to go, Ben Cabango carried the ball well, over the half-way line and towards the goal. He spotted a gap in between the central defenders that Redmond was looking to exploit, but the pass to pick him out was a little overhit and into the arms of a grateful John Danby in goal.

Scott Ruscoe introduced both Greg Draper and Kurtis Byrne for the final stages of the game, meaning The Saints were playing with three strikers on the field. In the 88th minute, Draper thought he’d beaten the offside trap, chipping the keeper and putting the ball into the back of the net.

The assistant referee thought otherwise though, and raised the flag, keeping the score 1-0 to Connah’s Quay Nomads and how it remained at the full-time whistle.

Substitutes: Draper for Cieslewicz (70), Byrne for Cabango (79)
Yellow Cards: Ebbe (69)


Date Time League Season
19th August 2018 4:00 pm JD Cymru Premier 2018 – 2019


Deeside Stadium
72 Kelsterton Rd, Connah\'s Quay, Deeside CH5 4BJ, UK


Connah’s Quay Nomads1
The New Saints FC0

The New Saints FC

1Paul Harrison Goalkeeper
2Simon Spender Defender
3Chris Marriott Defender
9Greg Draper Forward
10Danny Redmond Midfielder
11Adrian Cieslewicz Forward
12Blaine Hudson Defender
14Jamie Mullan Forward
17Dean Ebbe Forward
21Kurtis Byrne Forward