It’s A Draw At The Deeside Stadium, As Connah’s Quay Nomads And The New Saints Share The Points


Match Report

Goals: Ebbe (61)
Yellow cards: Harrison (9), Brobbel (84)
Substitutions: Draper for Ebbe (70), Cieslewicz for Edwards (86)

Match report: Sam Wood

The New Saints and Connah’s Quay Nomads shared the points at the Deeside Stadium, as this matchday 13 clash ended in a 1-1 draw.

After Dean Ebbe had given his side the lead from close range with 61 minutes played, the hosts fought back to claim an equaliser in the 82nd minute, as Michael Wilde fired home a rebound.

It’s a result which leaves Scott Ruscoe’s side in third place in the JD Cymru Premier table, as they sit just the one point behind both Connah’s Quay Nomads and Barry Town United, although the latter still have two games in hand.

The opening 45 minutes began in a cagey fashion, with neither side willing to surrender any ground to their opponents. Besides several half chances, both goalkeepers were largely spectators for the majority of proceedings, as the ball was locked inside a fierce midfield battle.

It wasn’t until the 43rd minute until The Saints has a serious chance to break the deadlock. After being picked out inside the penalty area by Danny Redmond, Dean Ebbe had a golden chance to do just that, however some superb goalkeeping from Lewis Brass meant the sides went in level at the break.

Much like the first, the second period began in a cagey fashion. The two sides continued to cancel each other out in the opening 15 minutes and it took until minute 58 for the first noteworthy chance to arrive, as George Horan needed to be alert as he put in a superb challenge to dispossess Ebbe on the edge of the penalty area.

All of a sudden, the game sprung into life and just two minutes later, Horan’s side were appealing for a penalty, but much to the disappointment of the home supporters, referee Mark Petch, waved away the protests.

It proved an important decision, as just seconds later The New Saints were celebrating. Some fantastic work down the left from Ryan Brobbel saw the number eight leave his marker for dead, before he played a deft cut back to pick out Dean Ebbe inside the six-yard-box. 

The Irish striker couldn’t miss, as he tapped home from close range, sparking celebrations amongst the TNS players and staff, as he made the score 1-0 after 61 minutes.

Despite falling a goal behind, the Nomads didn’t let their heads drop and could’ve found themselves level six minutes later. A corner from the left was met by the head of Michael Wilde, as the dangerous striker rose high above the defence, and his header only missed by inches.

The hosts continued to fashion chances and Paul Harrison needed to be alert as he pulled off a smart save from Declan Poole in the 72nd minute.

Scott Ruscoe’s side thought they had the chance to double their advantage soon after, as a ball from the right appeared to strike the arm of a Nomads defender. Referee Petch pointed to the spot and up stepped substitute, Greg Draper, to take it.

However, just as the New Zealand international was about to begin his run-up, after consulting with the assistant, the referee rescinded the penalty in bizarre circumstances and awarded a drop ball, much to the bewilderment of everyone in the stadium.

And how crucial of a decision it turned out to be, as just three minutes later, Connah’s Quay hauled themselves back on level terms.

When a long ball forward split the TNS defence, Jamie Insall was the first to react as he brought a save from Harrison. The danger wasn’t over though, as Wilde was on hand to follow up, and he fired the rebound past the helpless Harrison to make the score 1-1 with 82 minutes on the clock.

And despite several chances for both sides in the time that remained, neither were able to make them count, meaning the spoils were shared at the Deeside Stadium.


Date Time League Season
1st November 2019 8:00 pm JD Cymru Premier 2019 - 2020


Deeside Stadium
72 Kelsterton Rd, Connah\'s Quay, Deeside CH5 4BJ, UK


Connah’s Quay Nomads1
The New Saints FC1

The New Saints FC

1Paul Harrison Goalkeeper
3Chris Marriott Defender
4Keston Davies Defender
6Jon Routledge Midfielder
7Dean Ebbe 9 Forward
8Ryan Brobbel Midfielder
10Danny Redmond Midfielder
14Jamie Mullan Forward
20Joash Nembhard Defender
24Ryan Harrington Defender
9Greg Draper 7 Forward
11Adrian Cieslewicz 23 Forward