One Win From JD Welsh Premier League Title As Robins Hit For Six – Newtown 0-6 The New Saints


Match Report

Match report by Sam Wood

Goals: Edwards (7), Brobbel (40), Draper (58, 70, 85), Byrne (81)
Substitutions: Holland for Redmond (67), Cieslewicz for Mullan (71), Byrne for Edwards (76)

The New Saints moved to within one win of an eight consecutive JD Welsh Premier League title with another emphatic win against Newtown.

A Greg Draper hat-trick, alongside goals from Aeron Edwards, Ryan Brobbel and Kurtis Byrne ensured Scott Ruscoe’s side left Latham Park with a 6-0 win in their favour.

The win means a victory at Barry Town United next weekend will see The Saints lift the title, but they could be crowned champions without kicking a ball should results on Friday night go their way.


It took just seven minutes for The Saints to take the lead, as Ryan Brobbel picked out Aeron Edwards on the left of the penalty area and the number 23 sent an effort into the bottom right corner of the goal. It was hard to tell whether it was a shot or cross, but that meant little to the Wales C International who saw his side take the lead.

Scott Ruscoe’s side continued to keep up the pressure on the Robins’ defence in the minutes which followed. Edwards saw an effort go wide of the post from 25 yards as he looked to add to his tally, while Dave Jones was called into action to deny a Jon Routledge volley.

And that pressure was rewarded with five minutes to go before the break. After Jamie Mullan went past several players into the Newtown area, he cut the ball back to Ryan Brobbel who was waiting on the edge of the box. After taking a touch to set himself, the number eight left Jones rooted to the spot as he doubled The Saints’ advantage.


It was the home side who started the second period the brightest and saw a flurry of chances fall their way. First up, Jay Denny dragged an effort wide of Harrison’s post after the ball fell his way in the area, before Alex Fletcher sent a shot from distance high and wide of the TNS goal.

Chris Hughes’ side couldn’t make their good spell of play count though, and it came back to haunt them with 58 minutes played. A corner from the right was met by the head of Blaine Hudson on the penalty spot and the ball hit the post and bounced back out. The loose ball was pounced upon by Greg Draper in the box, who hammered home from close range, scoring his fourth goal in the space of a week.

And just six minutes later, the New Zealand international was presented with a golden opportunity to extend his tally even further. After clumsy defending from the Robins in the box, referee Cheryl Foster, who replaced the injured Huw Jones with 27 minutes played, pointed to the penalty spot. Draper stepped up and sent his strike down the middle, but a strong, trailing leg from Dave Jones kept the penalty out and Newtown cleared the danger.

Not disheartened by his miss moments earlier, Draper did eventually get his second with 70 minutes played. It was more good work from Mullan on the right side and another cutback, this time to Draper. The JD Welsh Premier League’s leading goal scorer made no mistake this time, tapping the ball home from close range.

Then it was the turn of Kurtis Byrne to get in on the act. Having been introduced as a substitute moments before, the Irish striker was picked out by another substitute, Cieslewicz, and stabbed home from the edge of the six-yard-box.

It was six not long after, as Brobbel switched the play brilliantly to Draper after leading a quick breakaway. The striker was left with an easy finish, slotting the ball beneath Jones to grab his hat-trick complete the afternoon’s scoring.


Date Time League Season
6th April 2019 2:30 pm JD Cymru Premier 2018 – 2019


Latham Park
The Club House, Park Ln, Newtown SY16 1EN, UK


The New Saints FC6

The New Saints FC

1Paul Harrison Goalkeeper
3Chris Marriott Defender
6Jon Routledge Midfielder
8Ryan Brobbel Midfielder
9Greg Draper Forward
10Danny Redmond 4 Midfielder
12Blaine Hudson Defender
14Jamie Mullan 11 Forward
22Kane Lewis Defender
11Adrian Cieslewicz 14 Forward
21Kurtis Byrne 23 Forward