Shootout Defeat For Saints At Stenhousemuir


Match Report

Goals: Brobbel (86)

Yellow cards: Byrne (44), Edwards (61)

Substitutions: Whitehouse for Byrne (58), Ebbe for Draper (66), Spender for Lewis (72)

Match report: Sam Wood

For the second successive season, The New Saints were eliminated from the Tunnock’s Caramel Wafer Challenge Cup at the first bundle, following a penalty shootout defeat against Stenhousmuir.

Scott Ruscoe’s side we’re made to pay for numerous missed first-half chances, and needed an equaliser four minutes from time to rescue a draw.

The Saints’ poor finishing continued in the shootout, with three players seeing their efforts saved, as


It was a strong start from The Saints, who should’ve found themselves four or five goals up at the break.

With just six minutes played, Greg Draper could’ve made it 1-0 to Scott Ruscoe’s side after being sent through on goal by Kurtis Byrne.

The New Zealand international couldn’t keep his effort down though and it went harmlessly over the crossbar.

Down the other end, the hosts could’ve been celebrating, as a defensive mix-up almost presented Halleron with an easy finish. Some superb last-ditch defending from Keston Davies kept the scores level though.

It was pretty much one-way traffic from there on in for the remainder of the first-half, as The Saints continued to press for the opener.

Ryan Brobbel had another great chance to open the scoring with 14 minutes on the clock, but home goalkeeper, Graeme Smith, was in inspired form, as he pushed the midfielder’s effort wide of the post.

Smith was instrumental in keeping his side in the game and pulled of yet another stunning save in the 39th minute.

After being played in by Draper, Edwards forced the home keeper into a spectacular one-handed save, as he pushed the ball out for a corner, when everyone in the stadium thought it would nestle in the top corner.


Things weren’t as easy for The Saints in the second period, with their Scottish hosts upping the ante following the restart.

And just three minutes later, poor marking from the TNS defence let Kieron Anderson ghost in at the back, and the Stenhousemuir man made no mistake in finishing with his head from close range. 1-1.

Suddenly, the hosts had a lead to defend and that was their game plan going forwards.

Knowing they needed to find a way back into the match, The Saints stepped up their own game, with both Byrne and Brobbel having chances in the 58th minute.

The opportunities kept coming for Scott Ruscoe’s side and you began to wonder whether it’d be one of those days, as substitute, Billy Whitehouse, fired wide from the edge of the area soon after.

Patience did pay off though, as The Saints found their equaliser with just four minutes to spare, sparking celebrations amongst the travelling supporters.

After picking the ball up on the left wing, Brobbel cut inside, before beating several players. He went for goal and his effort was a good one, finding the bottom corner and rescuing his side. 1-1.

With the scores level at the end of 90 minutes, penalties were need to determine a winner.

And just like last season, when Scott Ruscoe’s side exited the competition following a shootout against Queen’s Park, the result was no kinder this time.

The home side converted three of their four penalties, with The Saints scoring just once, meaning an early exit from the competition once more.


TNS – Whitehouse (saved)

Stenhousemuir – Munro (scored)

TNS – Cieslewicz (saved)

Stenhousemuir – Gibson (saved)

TNS – Marriott (scored)

Stenhousemuir – Watters (scored)

TNS – Ebbe (saved)

Stenhousemuir – Hopkirk (scored)

Stenhousemuir win 3-1 on penalties


Date Time League Season
7th September 2019 3:00 pm Tunnock's Caramel Wafer Cup 2019 - 2020


Ochilview Park
Stenhousemuir FC, Gladstone Road, Antonshill, Stenhousemuir, Falkirk, Scotland, FK5 4HA, United Kingdom


The New Saints FC1

The New Saints FC

1Paul Harrison Goalkeeper
2Simon Spender 22 Defender
3Chris Marriott Defender
4Keston Davies Defender
7Dean Ebbe 9 Forward
8Ryan Brobbel Midfielder
9Greg Draper 7 Forward
10Danny Redmond Midfielder
11Adrian Cieslewicz Forward
21Kurtis Byrne 32 Forward
22Kane Lewis 2 Defender
24Ryan Harrington Defender
32Billy Whitehouse 21 Midfielder