Celebrations As Saints Lift JD Welsh Premier League Trophy In Style – The New Saints 3-1 Caernarfon Town


Match Report

Match report by Sam Wood

Goals: Byrne (12, 81), Draper (78)
Substitutions: Clark for Spender (53), Nembhard for Redmond (64), Draper for Ebbe (66)

The New Saints lifted the JD Welsh Premier in style with a 3-1 JD Welsh Premier League win against Caernarfon Town at Park Hall tonight.

After the sides went in level at the break, second-half goals from Greg Draper and Kurtis Byrne wrapped up the three points for Scott Ruscoe’s side, who moved nine points clear in the process.


It was a lively start from the champions, who took the lead with 12 minutes on the clock. Billy Whitehouse showed great feet down the right, before laying off Routledge. The number six crossed for Byrne in the middle and the Irish striker headed home form the six-yard line.

The lead was a short lived on though. Just seven minutes later, Darren Thomas beat Jack Bodenham to the ball, giving him space on the edge of the box. He made great use of it too, sending an effort crashing off the left post and into the right corner, giving Paul Harrison no chance.

But just minutes, TNS had a golden chance to get back in front. It was Whitehouse once more down the right, who picked out Dean Ebbe at the back with a low cross. With his weaker foot, Ebbe took the effort first time, missing the top left corner by inches.

Scott Ruscoe’s side kept up the pressure, with Caernarfon’s Ramsey denying Ebbe twice more, and a close-range effort from Simon Spender.

It was an effort from Jon Routledge though which came closest to restoring TNS’ lead. After winning a challenge in the middle of the pitch, the midfielder carried the ball forwards, before unleashing a shot from distance. It wasn’t far away, as it dropped just inches wide of the left post.


There was an early chance for TNS to take the lead just three minutes after the restart, as Danny Redmond worked the ball into the area and picked out Dean Ebbe. Under pressure from the defender, Ebbe couldn’t connect with the ball cleanly and it ran comfortably through to the goalkeeper.

Things certainly got a lot more disjointed in the second period, with neither side managing to get a foothold on proceedings and it wasn’t until the 76th minute did the match spring to life.

And it was the visitors who almost made the breakthrough. After collecting the ball just outside his penalty area, Darren Thomas carried the ball well over 50 yards, riding a couple of challenges in the process. In search of his second of the afternoon, he saw a fierce effort strike the post and bounce to safety.

It didn’t take long for TNS to punish them either. Just two minutes later, a well spotted ball from Routledge found its way to substitute Greg Draper, who was waiting in the penalty area, and the New Zealand international found the bottom corner to score his 35th goal in all competitions this season.

Scott Ruscoe’s side certainly weren’t letting up there. Following more good link-up play between Routledge and Whitehouse, the ball was flicked on to Byrne in the area. The former Linfield man made no mistake in hitting the target and grabbing his second goal of the night.


Date Time League Season
20th April 2019 7:30 pm JD Cymru Premier 2018 – 2019


Park Hall Stadium
The Venue, Burma Rd, Whittington, Oswestry SY11 4AS, UK


The New Saints FC3
Caernarfon Town1

The New Saints FC

1Paul Harrison Goalkeeper
2Simon Spender 19 Defender
3Chris Marriott Defender
6Jon Routledge Midfielder
10Danny Redmond 20 Midfielder
11Adrian Cieslewicz Forward
17Dean Ebbe 9 Forward
21Kurtis Byrne Forward
32Billy Whitehouse Midfielder
19Ben Clark 2 Midfielder
20Joash Nembhard 10 Defender
9Greg Draper 17 Forward