The New Saints Beat Caernarfon Town 1-0, As The New JD Cymru Premier Season Gets Underway With A Win


Match Report

Goals: Brobbel (27)
Yellow cards: Brobbel (56), Redmond (73), Routledge (75)
Substitutions: Ebbe for Draper (62), Whitehouse for Cieslewicz (62), Byrne for Brobbel (90+1)

Attendance: 312

Match report: Sam Wood

The New Saints got their defence of the JD Cymru Premier underway in perfect fashion, as they defeated Caernarfon Town 1-0 at Park Hall.

Ryan Brobbel’s superb 27th minute free-kick was enough to make the difference, as Scott Ruscoe’s side survived one or two late scares to take home all three points.


Fresh off the back of their European exploits, TNS were on the front foot right from the off, and Aeron Edwards saw appeals for a penalty waved away by referee Rob Jenkins in the third minute, before Mullan brought the first save of the match out of the Caernarfon goalkeeper five minutes later.

It was a half with chances apiece for both sides and Paul Harrison was kept busy, tipping a curling effort from Jamie Crowther over the bar with 16 minutes played.

A busy period followed for The Saints’ keeper, who was forced into a double save shortly after, before a last-ditch challenge from Ryan Harrington cleared the danger.

Scott Ruscoe’s side weren’t to be denied for too much longer though, as a foul on Jamie Mullan resulted in a TNS free-kick on the edge of the penalty box. Up stepped The Saints’ dead ball specialist, Ryan Brobbel, who sent a fantastic finish over the wall and past Alex Ramsey, giving his side a 1-0 lead.

And it could’ve been two just minutes later, as Greg Draper lashed a back post volley wide of the post.


The second period was much more disjointed than the first, but Scott Ruscoe’s side still enjoyed chances at the half began.

Both Cieslewicz and Mullan had chances to cross, but some poor direction, plus good defensive work, meant they came to nothing.

Wary of tiredness following a long European campaign, Scott Ruscoe introduced both Dean Ebbe and Billy Whitehouse for Draper and Cieslewicz in the 62nd minute.

Almost instantly, Ebbe was involved, racing in behind the visiting defence and bringing a a smart save from Alex Ramsey.

More TNS chances followed in the next few minutes, as Mullan was caught offside, before he  flashed a fierce strike across the face of Ramsey’s goal, but the visitors remained dangerous on the break.

And with just minutes to spare, Sean Eardley’s side almost snatched an equaliser. Some good work down the left saw the ball cut back to Leo Smith on the edge of the box and the Caernarfon man was only inches wide with a powerful effort.

That proved to be the last chance for the visitors though, with TNS managing the remaining moments well, as they got their league title defence underway by taking all three points.


Date Time League Season
18th August 2019 2:30 pm JD Cymru Premier 2019 - 2020


Park Hall Stadium
The Venue, Burma Rd, Whittington, Oswestry SY11 4AS, UK


The New Saints FC1
Caernarfon Town0

The New Saints FC

1Paul Harrison Goalkeeper
2Simon Spender Defender
6Jon Routledge Midfielder
7Dean Ebbe 9 Forward
8Ryan Brobbel 21 Midfielder
9Greg Draper 7 Forward
10Danny Redmond Midfielder
11Adrian Cieslewicz 32 Forward
12Blaine Hudson Defender
14Jamie Mullan Forward
24Ryan Harrington Defender
32Billy Whitehouse 11 Midfielder
21Kurtis Byrne 8 Forward