Ebbe Brace As Saints Into The Last Eight – Caernarfon Town 1 The New Saints 3


Match Report


Caernarfon Town 1 The New Saints 3

The weekend of JD Welsh Cup fixtures kicked off with The New Saints of Oswestry Town the first team into the last eight, courtesy of a 3-1 win at The Oval. Making just the one change from last weekend’s Nathaniel MG Cup final win, Scott Ruscoe gave new signing Dean Ebbe his full debut.

His faith in the striker was rewarded when, with just four minutes on the clock, the former Shamrock Rovers man fired the visitors into a 1-0 lead. With Jamie Mullan involved, Ebbe gave Ramsay no chance as he blasted home from close range.

The goal proved to be the dividing line come the halftime whistle, as a bumper crowd of 1489 witnessed an open game. Played on a heavy pitch that suited the home side more than the visitors, nevertheless The New Saints once more showed their ability to adapt to the conditions.

With the second period just three minutes old, Ebbe grabbed his second of the game. Timing his run perfectly, he met a ball played in by Aeron Edwards and placed it to his left – and Ramsay’s right – as it hit the net to give TNS a comfortable cushion.

However, the never-say-die spirit of the Canaries ensured that they were thrown a lifeline in the 77th minute. Good work by Jamie Breese down the left saw his ball into the penalty area met by Darren Thomas, as the deficit was reduced.

Both sides continued to create chances – including Kevin Kauber on for his debut in a TNS shirt – but it was right at the death when the crucial fourth goal of the game was scored.

This time Ebbe turned provider in the box as Edwards smashed the ball home, ensuring that with one minute of the three added played, the game was signed, sealed and delivered.

Goals: Ebbe (4, 48), Edwards (90+1)

Substitutions: Kauber for Brobbel (69), Pryce for Darlington (86)

Yellow card: Holland (84)


Date Time League Season
26th January 2018 7:45 pm JD Welsh Cup 2017 - 2018




Caernarfon Town1
The New Saints FC3

The New Saints FC

1Paul Harrison Goalkeeper
2Simon Spender Defender
3Chris Marriott Defender
8Ryan Brobbel 27 Midfielder
12Blaine Hudson Defender
14Jamie Mullan Forward
17Dean Ebbe Forward
23Aeron Edwards Midfielder