The New Saints Move To The Top Of The JD Cymru Premier, Following A 2-1 Victory Against Newtown


Match Report

Goals: Brobbel (17), Ebbe (40)
Yellow cards: Lewis (89)
Substitutions: Byrne for Edwards (66), Whitehouse for Cieslewicz (76), Draper for Ebbe (81)

Match report: Sam Wood

The New Saints moved to the top of the JD Cymru Premier for the first time this season, after a 2-1 victory against Newtown at Park Hall.

First-half goals from Ryan Brobbel and Dean Ebbe had Scott Ruscoe’s side cruising at the break, but Joe Kenton found the back of the net with 15 minutes to go to give his side a lifeline.

The Saints survived the late Robins onslaught though, as they got back to winning ways, following their exit from the Tunnock’s Caramel Wafer Challenge Cup at the weekend.


It was an evenly matched start to the game, with both sides missing the target with efforts in the opening stages.

Keston Davies was the first, with his shot going narrowly over the crossbar from the edge of the penalty area, before Brobbel’s strike just four minutes later met the safe fate.

For Newtown, a shot from Joe Kenton went begging in the 11th minute, posing no trouble for Harrison, going comfortably over the bar.

David Jones was the first goalkeeper to be called into action, and he needed to be alert to pull off a superb save to deny Brobbel from close range with 15 minutes gone.

However, there was no denying The Saints’ number eight two minutes later. After a poor challenge on the edge of their own area, Newtown conceded a free-kick which Brobbel stepped up to take. And what a great free-kick it was from the club’s set-piece expert, as he left Jones rooted to the spot and found the top corner. 1-0.

Scott Ruscoe’s side kept up the tempo and good play between Dean Ebbe and Jon Routledge resulted in the later going to ground in the penalty area. There were one or two half-hearted appeals but the referee pointed for a corner.

The Saints’ pressure did pay off five minutes before the break though. A driven ball from Cieslewicz down the right found Dean Ebbe in the middle of the box, giving the Irish striker an easy finish from close range to double the lead. 2-0.


Having been his side’s main spark in the first period, Brobbel began the second in the same manner, sending an inviting ball into the area with 47 minutes on the clock. It was good defending from the visitors though, and it was safely cleared for a corner.

And it was that man again causing the visitors problems one more shortly after. After cutting in from the left, the winger sent a powerful shot just wide of Jones’ post.

From the pattern of play, it seemed almost inevitable that The Saints would find the third goal, and that was almost the case in the 64th minute, when a good ball from Harrington gave Aeron Edwards the ball, with space to turn inside the Newtown area.

That’s exactly what the number 23 did, although he couldn’t keep the effort down and it went harmlessly over the crossbar.

And with 15 minutes to go Chris Hughes’ side were presented with a lifeline, as a defensive lapse from The Saints gave them a way back into the match. A ball in from the right found Joe Kenton, who’d been afforded space in the area, and his effort struck the far post before deflecting in.

With their tails up following the goal, the visitors launched a late onslaught at the TNS goal, with Neil Mitchell firing wide from the edge of the area, before Joe Kenton saw a header cleared off the line by Chris Marriott.

However, The Saints did enough to hold off the Robins and claimed all three points – a result which moved Scott Ruscoe’s side to the top of the JD Cymru Premier for the first time since last season.


Date Time League Season
10th September 2019 7:45 pm JD Cymru Premier 2019 - 2020


Park Hall Stadium
The Venue, Burma Rd, Whittington, Oswestry SY11 4AS, UK


The New Saints FC2

The New Saints FC

1Paul Harrison Goalkeeper
3Chris Marriott Defender
4Keston Davies Defender
6Jon Routledge Midfielder
7Dean Ebbe 9 Forward
8Ryan Brobbel Midfielder
10Danny Redmond Midfielder
11Adrian Cieslewicz 32 Forward
22Kane Lewis Defender
23Aeron Edwards 21 Midfielder
24Ryan Harrington Defender
21Kurtis Byrne 23 Forward
32Billy Whitehouse 11 Midfielder
9Greg Draper 7 Forward